Books
Use the library catalog to find books about and by architects.
To find books ABOUT an architect, do a subject or keyword search:
Subject search: ando, tadao
Keyword search: zaha and hadid
For books BY an architect, do an author search:
Author search: wright, frank lloyd
Articles
Use article indexes to find articles in periodicals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934-present)
Art Full Text (1984-present) For articles published before 1984, consult Art Index (with coverage back to 1929), Z5937 A78 (in the documents room).
Avery Obituary Index of Architects. Arch Ref Z5941 A9 1980
Online Resources
Grove Art Online (online version of the authoritative Dictionary of Art)
Oxford Art and Architecture Dictionaries (online versions of several Oxford reference books)
Biography Resource Center (biographies of varying depth from several standard reference works)
Print Reference Sources
| Title |
Call Number |
| African American Architects. A Biographical Dictionary |
Arch Ref NA 736 A47 2004 |
| African-American Architects in Current Practice |
Arch Ref NA 738 N5 A45 1991 |
| Biographical Dictionary of American Architects (Deceased) |
Arch Ref NA 736 W5 1970 |
| Biographical Dictionary of Philadelphia Architects 1700-1840 |
Arch Ref NA 735 P5 T28 1985 |
| Contemporary Architects |
Arch Ref NA 680 C625 1994 |
| A Dictionary of Architecture and Building: Biographical, Historical and Descriptive |
Arch Ref NA 31 S84 1966 vols. 1-3 |
| Dictionary of Art (Grove) |
Arch Ref N 31 D5 1996 |
| Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture (Senott) |
Arch Ref NA 680 E495 2004 vols. 1-3 |
| Encyclopedia of American Architecture |
Arch Ref NA 705 P3 1995 |
| Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering and Construction |
Arch Ref NA 31 E59 1988 vols. 1-5 |
| Encyclopedia of Modern Architecture |
Arch Ref NA 680 E56 |
| Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects |
Arch Ref NA 40 M25 1982 vols. 1-4 |
| Master Builders: A Guide to Famous American Architects |
Arch Ref NA 736 M37 1985 |
| The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture |
Arch Ref N 7830 M87 1996 |
| Who’s Who in Architecture: From 1400-1977 |
Arch Ref NA 40 W48 |