This is a guide to print sources found in the Gunnin Architecture Library. Links to online equivalents have been included. Additional online resources may be found on the Visual Arts subject page.
Call Numbers:
Books with the same subject often have very similar call numbers. Try "browsing" the shelves under the following call numbers:
N - Visual Arts (including general encyclopedias and dictionaries, history, theory, art as a profession)
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC – Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND - Painting
NE – Print Media
NK - Decorative Arts
NX – Arts in General (including study and teaching and special topics)
TR - Photography
Reference Books: Our print collection includes many important books not available online:
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
| Title |
Call Number |
| Artspeak |
Arch Ref N 6490.A87 1990
Outlines the modernist and post-modernist art movements of the 20th century |
| Artspoke |
Arch Ref N 6447.A85 1993
Outlines pre-modernist art movements from the mid-19th century |
| Artwords: A Glossary of Contemporary Art Theory |
Arch Ref N 71 .P32 1997 |
| Dictionary of Art |
Arch Ref N 31.D5 1996 and online as Grove Art Online
The authoritative scholarly encyclopedia of art and art history. |
| Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art |
Arch Ref N 6490 .C53 1998 and online |
| Encyclopedia of World Art |
Arch Ref N 31.E5 vols.1-17 |
| Glossary of Art, Architecture and Design Since 1945 |
Arch Ref N 34.W34 1992 |
| International Dictionary of Art and Artists |
Arch Ref N 40.I55 1990 vols.1&2 |
| McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art |
Arch Ref N 33.M23 |
| Oxford Companion to Art |
Arch Ref N 33.O9 |
| Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Art |
Arch Ref N 6490.O94 |
| Oxford Companion to Western Art |
Arch Ref N 33 O923 2001 and online |
| Pronunciation Dictionary of Artists' Names |
Arch Ref N 40.K3 1993 |
| Title |
Call Number |
| Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Künstler |
Arch Ref N 40.T43 vols.1-37
Known as "Thieme-Becker," this German biographical dictionary contains hundreds of artists from the 19th century and earlier not found in other reference works. |
| Contemporary Artists |
Arch Ref N 6490.C6567 2002 |
| Contemporary Women Artists |
Arch Ref N 8354 C66 1999 |
| Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs |
Arch Ref N 40.B47 vols.1-8
A comprehensive French dictionary of artists with coverage up to the mid-20th century. |
| Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists |
Arch Ref N 6536.C8 1988 |
| Dictionary of Women Artists |
Arch Ref N 8354 .D53 1997 v.1,2 |
| Dictionary of Women in Religious Art |
Arch Ref N 7793.W65 A66 1998 |
| Oxford Dictionary of Art |
Arch Ref N 33.O93 1988 and online |
| Prestel Dictionary of Art & Artists in the 20 th Century |
Arch Ref N 6490 P74 2000 |
| St. James Guide to Black Artists |
Arch Ref N 40 .S78 1997 |
| 20th Century American Folk, Self Taught, and Outsider Art |
Arch Ref NK 805 .S46 1993 |
| Who's Who in American Art |
Arch Ref N 6536.W62 25 th 2003/2004 |
| Who Was Who in American Art |
Arch Ref N 6512 F26 1985 |
| Women Artists and Designers in Europe since 1800 |
Arch Ref N 6757 .M33 1998 v.1,2 |
| Women Artists of Color |
Arch Ref N 8354 W656 1999 |
| Art Index (1929-1995) |
Arch Ref Z 5937.A78 in Documents Room
This is the basic art periodicals index and the print equivalent of Art Full Text, which begins coverage in 1984. For articles published earlier than that year, you will need to consult the print version. An important source of contemporaneous articles about twentieth-century artists and their work. |
| ArtBibliographies Modern (ABM). (1974-present) |
Arch Ref Z 5935.L64
This index, with two issues a year, specializes in the literature about modern art, including its predecessors and successors, from about the mid-19th century to the present. In addition to periodicals, the index includes book chapters and dissertations. Each entry includes an abstract, making this a very useful resource. |
RILA (1975-1989)
BHA (1991-2000) |
Arch Ref Z 5937.R162
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) is a continuation of RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art), an important index and abstracter of international scholarly publications including magazine, journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. The international scope and abstracts (in English or French) make this a useful resource for the period covered. |