See also these pages for related links: Architecture
Art.com
A searchable site with art auctions, "Art of the Century," biographies, U.S. museum exhibits, and more.
Art Source
A central site for art and architecture-related material on the Net. Highly recommended; includes information on general resources and bibliographies, architecture resources, art/architecture programs and libraries, electronic exhibitions, image collections, museum listings, organizations, online journals, and more.
Art Imagebase
From the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco. This fascinating site contains more than 60,000 works by 15,000 different artists and includes images of each work, all of which are searchable
Art on the Net
This site offers a place for artists to have studios and gallery rooms that can be accessed via the WWW.
ARTIFACT
Searchable guide to the “best of the Web for the Arts and Creative Industries.” A fully cataloged database of high quality web sites especially suited for higher education. Contains records from its predecessor, ADAM (Art, Design, Architecture and Media Information Gateway). A project of the UK’s Resource Discovery Network.
CeramicsWeb
Searchable databases include the Ceramic Materials database, and several glaze recipe databases; exhibitions, class materials, articles on ceramic techniques and styles, reviews of ceramics videos, health and safety information also provided.
Christus Rex
"Over 1500 images, mainly from Vatican City and Vatican museums. Includes Michaelangelo (Sistine Chapel) and Raphael (Stanza and Loggia). Also includes text of addresses by Pope John Paul II, and the Bible in seven languages."
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
A collection of digitized texts and images from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Primary sources with a focus on early American decorative arts and architecture. Image collections of furniture and ceramics.
GSA Federal Buildings Page
Offers access to databases providing information on the federal government’s fine arts collection, art housed in federal buildings, and historic federal buildings, as well as much general information on federal buildings and ADA/Accessibility issues.
Metropolitan Arts Council (Greenville)
Information on upstate art events, art organizations, and artists.
National Museum of American Art
Over 3,000 works by American artists.
NYFA Source
A national searchable database of grants, services, publications and other information for performing, literary, media and visual artists from the New York Foundation for the Arts.
Perseus Project
Project described as an evolving digital library for study of ancient Greece includes texts in Greek and English, lexicons, images of art objects and buildings, secondary sources, teaching materials.
South Carolina Federation of Museums
Calendar of exhibits and directory for South Carolina museums.
Voice of the Shuttle: Art
Voice of the Shuttle: Art History
Two important directories of web resources in art from the University of California at Santa Barbara. A good starting point for research on the web.
WebMuseum
"Large collection of famous paintings, with information on artists, styles, and schools, from medieval to 20th century. Formerly called WebLouvre."
World Art Treasures
Access to 100,000 art slides from the Berger Foundation
World Wide Arts Resources
This site is one of the major sources of links to art-related sites. Excellent source for links to museums, in the US and elsewhere, as well as an index of artists, lists of art galleries and exhibitions, art schools and other academic arts resources, arts publications, antiques, performance art, and more. A great searchable database for art sites with more than 150 categories and over 100,000 pages. Includes: Museums, Antiques, Arts Resources, Commercial Arts and Galleries, Artist Index, Festivals, and Performance Arts.
For more links:
American Studies Web
An interdisciplinary collection of internet connections including a section specifically for visual culture.
Art -- From the WWW Virtual Library
The Clemson University Libraries contain many books, indexes, journals, documents, and media on this subject area. Check the
Catalog and
Find Articles and Databases for print resources. Please consult a Reference Librarian for help in finding or using any research materials.