Skip to main content

Web Sites related
to Economics

orange bar



Economics Librarian

Bobby Hollandsworth
407A Cooper Library
hollan4@clemson.edu (864) 656-3118

orange bar
More Business & Economics Resources

See also these pages for related links: Accounting, Finance and Investing




U.S. Economic Statistics

U.S. Economic Statistics - Basic Sources

Economy at a Glance
Economic indicators from the U.S. Bureau of Labor (BLS) website. Includes statistics on Labor Force & Employment - Hours, Earnings, & Productivity - Consumer & Producer Prices.

Economic Statistics Briefing Room
Latest U.S. Economic statistics: Gross Domestic Product & other Output; Income; Employment, Unemployment, and Earnings; Production and Business Activity; Prices; Money, Credit, and Securities Markets; Transportation; and International Statistics.

Census Economic Briefing Room
Manufacturing; Wholesale & Retail Trade; U.S. International Trade; Construction Spending; Housing Starts; New Home Sales; Homeownership; Household Income; Poverty; and more.

The Dismal Scientist
Provides economic analysis of current issues; economic indicators; calculators for stock market valuation, CPI, PPI, mortgages, & installment loans; local area economic profiles, and more.

Minimum Wage

U.S. National Debt Clock

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Not the complete book, but, the most used information. Tables are iin Adobe Acrobat .PDF files.

U.S. Economic Statistics - Specialized Sources

IRS Tax Stats/Statistics of Income (SOI)

U.S. Historical Census Data Browser
Provides data on the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970.

Regional Economic Accounts
The BEA provides state and local personal income and gross state product data. Interactive tables are provided to help view and download the data.

Regional Economic Information System (REIS)
Produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA), REIS presents estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for 1969-2000. 

USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System
The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Economics and Statistics system provides quick and timely access to agricultural statistics on the Internet. The system includes nearly 300 reports and datasets covering U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Most reports are text files and most data sets are in spreadsheet format and include time-series data. Also includes International Statistics.

EconData
The EconData service of the University of Maryland makes available several hundred thousand economic time series that have been put in a standard, highly efficient, easy-to-use form for personal computers (PCs) and made publicly available. These series include various national accounts, labor information, price indices, current business indicators and industrial production, information over state and regions, and international data.



U.S. Government Agencies

Indexes to Federal Statistics

FedStats
Use FedStats to find statistics from a wide-range of federal government websites.  You can start by subject or choose a specific federal agency.  The site does not have the actual statistics.  Instead it provides links to the specific page on an agency's website where the statistics can be found.

Agencies Providing Economic Statistics

Census Bureau
Access data from the various census publications.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Contains current and historical time series data, as well as the most recent BLS news releases with higher-level aggregate data, for the economic surveys conducted by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. These include: employment and unemployment statistics, consumer prices, producer prices, employment costs, labor-management data, occupational injuries and illnesses, productivity, employment projections, international labor statistics, etc.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
The FDIC is the independent deposit insurance agency created by Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's banking system.  The website provides statistics on banking and financial information on individual banks as well as information on other financial topics.

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Access current and historical statistics; surveys and reports; working papers (full text 1996 - present); Federal Reserve Bulletin articles, plus:

Beige Book Archive (1970-present) (Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District)
Fed in Print: An Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research.

Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond (5th District, including SC, NC, MD, DC, VA, WV)

Fraser (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
Provides economic information and data to researchers interested in the U. S. economy.

Economic Research Service (U.S. Dept. of Agriculture)

Foreign Agricultural Service - FAS (USDA)
Includes access to FASOnline, the U. S. Trade Internet System.

Export Advantage (U. S. Department of Commerce Office of Textiles & Apparel)
Provides information on overseas requirements and regulations. The website also includes common trade barriers, U.S. trade data, tariffs and taxes, labeling requirements, and trade agreements.


South Carolina Economic Statistics

South Carolina Labor Market Information



International Economics

World Bank
The World Bank Group is the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), the International Development Association (IDA), the International Finance Corporation (IFC), and the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA). IBRD is the main lending arm of the World Bank. IDA is the World Bank affiliate that lends on concessional terms to the poorest countries. IFC finances private sector projects and advises businesses and governments on investement issues. MIGA promotes foreign direct investment through guarantees, policy advice, and promotional services.

Food and Agriculture Organization (of the United Nations) - includes FAOSTAT Statistics Database.

Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)

World Trade Organization - their Resources page includes legal texts of WTO agreements, official documents, trade statistics, analysis, publications, and more. See also their Trade Topics page.

2001 Index of Economic Freedom
From the Heritage Foundation, "The Index of Economic Freedom is a practical reference guide to the economies of 161 countries, with detailed information about economic policy."

Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada is the country's national statistical agency, with programs organized into three broad subject matter areas: demographic and social, socio-economic and economic.




Working Papers

EconWPA Archive
This is a web service for the Working Paper Archive (WPA) for all areas of Economics. It is devoted to the free distribution of electronic working papers that have been posted to the site. Both the abstracts and the papers themselves are available through this website, as well as text searches of the abstracts, authors, and titles.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Search for particular NBER Working Papers and Reprints by keyword(s), author, title or paper number.

Menu



Miscellaneous Economics Resources

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

History of Economic Thought
From the Department of Economics at The New School for Social Research. Provides information on famous economists and economic schools of thought.

InflationData.com
Specializes in all forms of informatin about the nature of inflation. This includes current and historical inflation data, the consumer price index, and articles about inflation.



Other Guides to Economic Resources

Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE) (part of The WWW Virtual Library)
A comprehensive guide to economics resources on the internet.  Sponsored by the American Economic Association

WebEc: World Wide Web Resources in Economics (part of The WWW Virtual Library)
Large directory includes resources on methodology, history, econometrics, microeconomics, macroeconomics, labor, law, agriculture, international economics, trade, development.

FINWeb
A financial economics WWW server managed by James Garven, Assistant Professor in the graduate business school at the University of Texas at Austin. Lists Internet resources such as electronic journals, working papers, and links to other servers providing substantive information concerning economics and finance-related topics of interest to an academic business audience.

Statistical Resources on the Web



The Clemson University Libraries contain many books, indexes, journals, documents, and media on this subject area. Check the Online Catalog and Find Articles, and Research by Subject for other resources. Please consult a Reference Librarian for help in finding or using any research materials.

 

Please send comments or suggestions to mfutral@clemson.edu

Clemson University Libraries
Campus Box 343001
Clemson, SC 29634-3001

Dean of Libraries Kay Wall | Web Manager Gordon Cochrane | Site Search/Site Index
(864) 656-3027 | 1-877-886-2389 (toll free)

Updated October 12, 2007 | Copyright © 2003-2006 Clemson University. All rights reserved.
Some files may require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Photographs by Micki Reid and Jon Truesdale
.