Skip to main content

WWW Sites related to Archives and Manuscript Repositories

orange bar


Manuscript Archivist

Jim Cross
Special Collections
jcross@clemson.edu (864) 656-5182

orange bar
More History Resources

Archives & Archivists
Information about the Archives electronic list, maintained by Miami University of Ohio. Includes chronological index of messages since April 1993.

Archives and Manuscript Collections on the Internet
A list of archival servers, arranged alphabetically under three headings: National Libraries, Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States, and Repositories outside the United States. Maintained by Columbia University.

Archives in New England on the Internet
New England Archivists.

Archives On the Web
Karen Ostertag's extensive list of links to national, state, regional, university and research archives.

Archivist's Daybook
Calendar of archival events maintained by Leon Miller, Tulane University.

Bibliothëque Nationale de France
Dèpartement des Manuscrits.

Canadian Archival Resources On the Internet
By Steve Billinton and Cheryl Avery, University of Saskatchewan.

Conservation OnLine
From Stanford University Library.

Digital Finding Aids Project/OASIS
Harvard and Radcliffe project to improve access to 49 archival repositories of primary source material (archives, manuscripts, photographs, drawings, emphemera etc.) Presently consists of 8 participating repositories; finding aids are available in SGML and HTML formats.

Duke University Special Collections Library
Digitized images from selected collections of rare or unique research materials.

Finding Aids for Archival Collections/California Digital Library (CDL) Online Archives of California
Berkeley/DL SunSITE.

Johns Hopkins Gopher -- Other Archives and Manuscript Collections
The "grand-daddy of them all;" a list of archival gophers and telnet sites maintained by Johns Hopkins University.

Library of Congress
The "American Memory" page also links to LC's Manuscripts, Rare Books, and Special Collections pages.

National Archives and Records Administration

NASA Historical Archive

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Gateway to the AMC (Archival and Mixed Collections) file of close to 500,000 records available in the Research Libraries Information Network bibliographic database for archival and manuscript collections in research libraries, museums, state archives, and historical societies located throughout North America. This is also where NUCMC has produced its online cataloging since 1986/87. Access to this gateway is provided as a service of the Library of Congress.

Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)

Project Open Book
Yale's program exploring the feasibility of conversion of preserved material from microfilm to digital imagery.

Public Record Office
National archives of the United Kingdom.

Ready, 'Net, Go! Internet resoures for archives
Leon Miller's extensive and descriptive list of archival resources.

Repositories of Primary Sources
A list of archival servers, arranged geographically, maintained by the University of Idaho.

Society of American Archivists
Oldest and largest archival professional association in North America.


The Clemson University Libraries contain many books, indexes, journals, documents, and media on this subject area. Check the Catalog and Find Articles for print resources. Please consult a Reference Librarian for help in finding or using any research materials.


Please send comments or suggestions to jcross@clemson.edu


Clemson University Libraries
Campus Box 343001
Clemson, SC 29634-3001

Dean of Libraries Kay Wall | Web Manager Gordon Cochrane | Site Search/Site Index
(864) 656-3027 | 1-877-886-2389 (toll free)

Updated October 6, 2007 | Copyright © 2003-2006 Clemson University. All rights reserved.
Some files may require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Photographs by Micki Reid and Jon Truesdale
.