Skip to main content

WWW Sites
on History

orange bar


History Librarian

Priscilla Munson
304 Cooper Library
wprisci@clemson.edu (864) 656-6375

orange bar
More History Resources

See also these pages for related links: Anthropology, Politics

Abridged History of the United States
This interactive online textbook offers the story of the US through the perspective of a retired attorney and publisher. The content is well organized and easily navigable, with links to a large range of documentary history, ranging from court cases to movies.

American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory consists of collections of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history.

American Presidency (U.S.) - Grolier Online
Information from The New Book of Knowledge, the Academic American Encyclopedia, and the Encyclopedia Americana. Includes biographies, general articles, and quick facts. In addition, there's an Online Exhibit Hall that includes film clips, sound bytes, and eventually political cartoons and presidential documents. Historical Election Results includes results from 1789 to 1992, although they are displayed as one graphic, so load the image on this one.

Ancient World Web
Resources for ancient history. Updated weekly.

Ancient World (Argos - Limited Area Search)
A new search engine covering just Web sites related to the Ancient World. Filters out unwanted information by limiting searches to preselected Web sites deemed by a group of editors to be scholarly and topical.

Civil War Center - U.S.
THE source for Civil War information on the Internet. For historians, genealogists, buffs, students, reference librarians.

Civil War - American
Links to a wide range of Internet resources about the "war between the states." Includes texts, soldiers' rosters, battle descriptions, links to museums and more.

Constitution of the United States

Dead Sea Scrolls
On-line version of an exhibit at the Library of Congress. It offers many images of the scrolls as well as a wealth of information related to their period in history and their historical significance.

Declaration of Independence

Electronic Historical Publications

Eighteenth-Century Resources
A collection of resources on the Internet related to the eighteenth century, including literature, art, history, the history of science, and so on. Also includes a complete catalogue of electronic texts from the eighteenth century, roughly from Milton to Keats.

EuroDocs
Western European Primary Historical Documents.

Europe - Texts and Documents
A comprehensive and impressive index of ancient, medieval, early modern and modern European works that exist on the web. Find links to Sophocles, texts from the Crusades, the Italian Renaissance, World War II, and more.

Historical Text Archive
Comprehensive, and eclectic.

History of Science & Science Museums
Science-related newsletters, history, people, books, museums, planetariums, and other web listings. There are two different sites focusing on the history of mathematics, another for mathematicians of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, one for past notable women of computing and mathematic, and another on African-Americans in the sciences.

The Holocaust
This is an online cybrary of text and graphics about the Holocaust. A place where survivors, historians, students, and all interested may share in the teaching and learning of the Holocaust.

Medieval Studies - Labyrinth
For medieval scholarship and research.

Official Speeches

Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
The Wonders are listed in chronological order, from the Great Pyramid of Giza to the Lighthouse of Alexandria, with fascinating facts about each one. Descriptions are well-linked to more pictures or to significant places around the Web.

United States History
An ongoing hypertext history of the United States. The backbone of the document is a U.S. Information Agency document called "An Outline of American History." The site covers the colonial period to the Bush administration. Links are made to hundreds of full text documents including Presidents' addresses, the Federalist Papers, the Confessions of Nat Turner, the Mayflower Compact, and the Northwest Ordinance.

U.S. Presidents Lists
Has all the presidents, vice presidents, their term in office and cabinets and sorts them into lists such as: party, electoral and popular vote, date of birth, college, religion, number of children, who were related, who died in office, and about 25 other lists. Also links to the White House Presidential biographical pages.

Victoriana, Resources for Victorian Living
If you're interested in the Victorian years of the 19th century, you'll love this Web site. It includes articles about the period, links to museums and resources, shops specializing Victorian goods, a crossword puzzle, 19th century animated GIF images, and lots more.

World History Chart
Begins with David and Solomon and ends 3000 years later with Einstein, Picasso, Roosevelt and Churchill. In between, in divisions of 10 years, the major events, empires and invasions, inventions and achievements, rulers and leaders, writers, philosophers and scientists of world history can be reviewed at a single glance.

World War I - Trenches on the Web
This WWI web site has timelines, biographies, photos, weapons, counties involved, assasinations, and more. A great addition to history on the Internet.

World War II (Internet Life Review)
One of Yahoo's excellent review articles of the best sites on the Internet.

WPA Life Histories--1936-1940
Typescript interviews from the Federal Writers' Folklore Project offering the recollections of Americans from many walks of life.


The Clemson University Libraries contain many books, indexes, journals, documents, and media on this subject area. Check the Catalog and Find Articles for print resources. Please consult a Reference Librarian for help in finding or using any research materials.


Please send comments or suggestions to wprisci@clemson.edu

 

Clemson University Libraries
Campus Box 343001
Clemson, SC 29634-3001

Dean of Libraries Kay Wall | Web Manager Gordon Cochrane | Site Search/Site Index
(864) 656-3027 | 1-877-886-2389 (toll free)

Updated October 6, 2007 | Copyright © 2003-2006 Clemson University. All rights reserved.
Some files may require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Photographs by Micki Reid and Jon Truesdale
.